Posted by: S. N. Harrell | January 10, 2015

I Used to Write (Writer’s Block)

I used to write as a release
A cathartic unleashing
Giving me emotional peace
With the depths of pain I was reaching

I used to write to teach
Using my words to preach
Similes, metaphors, parables
Soliloquy my way to the adult tables

I used to write to compose my thoughts
Prepare my argument in paragraph and prose
Succumb to the affect from the life I wrought
Rebirth from a bud to a rose

I used to write with tears in my eyes
I used to write of fears and lies
I used to write of life and reality
I used to write of dreams staring back at me
I used to write & now I don’t
No journal to hold my secrets
No pen to paper I frequent

I used to write myself into infinity
I used to write
My world limitless, boundless, lacking weakness
I used to write
My invaluable brilliance
& now?
Nothing.
Nothing penciled or penned
Nothing written. The end.

Responses

  1. *hugs* It’ll come back.


Leave a comment, critique, or opinion. Thanks.

Categories

