Posted by: S. N. Harrell | July 17, 2011

Time Here (Poem)

I don’t like to spend much time here.
I used to but I’ve grown to realize
all here holds is unhappiness and fear to terrorize.
 
I don’t like to spend much time here
swallowing back what’s natural
to protect from the biting cold
taking it’s deleterious hold.
 
I don’t like to spend much time here
weakening my bones plundering my spirit
swiping my optimism
running, laughing with it.
A thief  in broad daylight
exacerbating my ever-worsening plight.
 
I don’t like to spend much time here
deep down, beneath the deepest, darkest,
sweltering, and cold beyond extremes
melting & freezing & melting & freezing & …
 
I don’t like to spend much time here in this dark
where my spirit is leached and where i am naught.
I don’t like to spend much time here
in this self-created imprisonment
eradicating everything I hold dear.
I don’t like to spend much time here
wondering where my sense of me went.
I don’t like to spend much time here.
I’d truly rather not.
 
© S. N. Harrell 2011
Responses

  1. hmm – there are places we should leave rather quickly before their loneliness becomes our own..

    • Indeed. I also think there are places where we can go & end up filling those placed with our emotions be it loneliness or joy. Thanks for the comment.


Leave a comment, critique, or opinion. Thanks.

Categories

